My Favorite Author And Why

      My favorite author so far would have to be Michele Jaffe. I consider her my favorite author because when i read her books I just get so into them. Its like a connection. Another reason I consider her as my favorite author is because every time I read one of her books chapter by chapter I just wanna read more.You know how you find a certain place to stop so you can do something like at the beginning of the next chapter or whatever? Well I couldnt do that reading one of her books.When I would try to stop I just kept going the book was just so interesting. I just got done with reading one of her books called Bad Kitty and it was AMAZING. I would definitly recomend it to anybody wanting to read a good book. Its about (and sorry if this is a spoile alert for some about to or wanting to read it) this youing girl, 17 year old Jasmine Callihan (aka Jas) who always ended up in the wrong place at the wrong place at the wrong time and attracted cats as well but before we start lets tell you a little more about Jas. 

    Well, Jas believes that everyone has a superpower. Her best friend Polly has comprhensive knowledge of fashion. And Jasmine’s stepmother, Sherri!, is impossiblr to hate. But as for her superpower she really isnt sure yet. Also, as I told you before, she has a tendency for being in the wrong place at the wrong time and cats really like her. Unfortunately, those things together puts her on a path to nothing but trouble. It all starts when a psycho cat (followed by a psycho man in a mesh shirt) chase Jas around the Venetian resort in which she stayed. Soon, Jasmine finds herself in the middle of a mystery involving the psychotic, three legged, cat and his family.

    The story here is zany and fun as Jas and her friends run around tryng to solve the case in spite of the annoying presence of Jasmine’s evil cousin and her evil hench twin Veronique. Another annoying presence is that of Jasmine’s father who is determined to keep Jasmine’s dream of fighting crime just that- a dream.Despite her father’s discouragement Jas manages to conduct her investigation, albeit with untraditional tools like eyeshadow instead of conventional fingerprint dust.

   The story is peppered for writing college  essays next year, including Little Life Lessons as well as some very entertaining haikus(“Cute guy at Snack Hut/ Why won’t you remove your shirt? / It’s so hot (you too)”). “Bad Kitty” is basically an amalgamation of a lot of differnt genres. It has some teen romance, some mystery/suspense, and a lot od comedy. A lot of times, that doesn’t all come together to make a decent novel-with “Bad Kitty” it does. The novel is very similar to Meg Cabot’s latest “Jinx” with semi-obvious romantic subplot and the foreshadowing, but Jaffe does it better. Strongly recommend foe anyone who likes “classic” chick lit.

Leave a comment